Originally a creative side-project for founding member and guitarist Chris Wethington while living abroad in Japan, Softspoken morphed into a fully-manned band at the close of 2015 after he moved back to the US. The band’s first single “Shorelines” (March 2016) leaned in an aggressive post-hardcore direction, but by the time their first EP “Pathways” rolled out a year later (March 2017), the sound had smoothed out, shifting focus to cleaner vocals and more melodic delivery.


The same year, a lineup change that brought in a new front man (the current singer, Sam Scheuer), led the band to release an expanded version of Pathways in 2018’s “Pathways (Deluxe Edition)” which features Scheuer on new tracks “Begin Again” & “How We Rise”. The band’s first LP “Deaf Perception” (June 2019) dialed back the aggression to focus on a more melodic delivery compared to their initial offerings, but rose into the Top 20 of Billboard’s Hard Rock charts supported by rigorous touring.


Sidelined by COVID-19’s shutdown of the industry, Softspoken again returned to the studio. Their latest release – the 5-song EP “Where the Heart Belongs” – has received praise from multiple press outlets, in addition to placements on Spotify’s New Blood, New Metal Tracks, New Core, & Heavy Queens playlists. Featuring a mix of every aspect of the band’s sound to-date, “Where the Heart Belongs” is far-and-away the most mature and complete Softspoken release yet.

North America